Earth to Microsoft: Stop Breaking Word!

Well, I got up this morning to find that a slew of new updates had been installed. That’s nice, except that when I tried to open a Word document, I found myself with the same old extremely annoying problem I’ve wrestled with several times before: the mysterious "Word won’t open a document by double clicking and when you do open a document, you can’t click to put the cursor where you want it" syndrome. If you close the document with the X in the upper right corner, you get an error message that Word has stopped responding. All very frustrating.

I needed to get some work done and I didn’t have time to figure out (again!) which update broke it, so I did a System Restore to yesterday’s restore point and everything works fine again. But I’m also now missing whatever good updates might have been in that batch.

I make my living as a writer so a properly functioning word processing program is not a luxury; it’s a necessity. For Pete’s sake, guys, I could understand you not being in a hurry to fix this problem if it were putting Word Perfect or Open Office out of commission – but you’re killing your own software here. In fact, last time this happened I actually started using OO for a while until I got it fixed, because I simply cannot work without the ability to instantly place the cursor where I want it within a document. Using the arrow keys doesn’t cut it.

Meanwhile, no updates for me until I figure out which one caused it this time.


deb@shinder.net     www.debshinder.com
"
Never enter a battle of wits unarmed."

About debshinder

Technology analyst and author, specializing in enterprise security. Author of or contributor to over 25 books, including "Scene of the Cybercrime." Fourteen-year Microsoft MVP, married to Microsoft FTE Tom Shinder, and proud mom of two wonderful grown-up human children and three amazing Japanese Chin pups. In my spare time, I love to travel - especially on cruise ships - and write about my grand adventures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment